2014 laureate of the Museum Horizon Award


Founded by ICOM Sweden and Samp, the Hans Manneby Memorial Fund for Museum Development presents the Museum Horizon Award to an individual who has contributed to the development of the role of museums in contemporary society in an innovative way. The prize was created in 2009 in honour of the life of former ICOM Sweden Chair, Hans Manneby and aims to celebrate efforts in innovative organisational and structural areas, forms of collaboration, methods of communication and non-conventional thinking.


The 2014 laureate is Giane Vargas Escobar, from the Museu Comunitário Treze de Maio in Santa Maria, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil. She was chosen for her commitment and contribution to the strengthening of Afro-Brazilian identity and culture in Brazilian society. Some of the noteworthy themes she has brought to public attention include Brazilian cultural diversity, the memory of social struggles before and since the abolition of slavery, and the role of women in transmitting collective memory. The prize also recognises her creativity and managerial skills in spreading the principles and practices of the museum community in Brazil.


Weitere Informationen: